Your Maitre d’

by

I promised it and here it is. Your host, displayed before you. My name’s John Mora and I’m a 22 year old psychology major graduating this spring from the University of Akron. I started this blog because of the reasons previously stated, and also to keep pace with my friend at http://filmwalrus.blogspot.com/. I highly encourage you check him out, too. Intelligent guy with a great breadth of coverage in film.

Because you’ll be spending time with me and my opinions, I thought I’d lay out some of my likes so you know what I’ll be periodically slobbering all over in my posts:

Movies: American Beauty, Kill Bill, The Goonies

Games: The Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time, Metal Gear series, Chrono Cross

Music: Yoko Kanno, Radiohead, Beck, Bjork

Comics: Fables, Gargoyles, Watchmen

Anime: Ghost in the Shell Stand Alone Complex, Cowboy Bebop, Evangelion, Spirited Away

Manga: PLANETES, Death Note, Fullmetal Alchemist

Television: Battlestar Galactica (2003), Lost, The Colbert Report, Buffy the Vampire Slayer (Seasons 1-5), Angel (except Season 3)

You can see I have a soft spot for sci-fi and genre in general. What can I say? It makes things interesting for me. My taste in anime tends towards the more serious series, and I generally prefer series with designs I find attractive and with animation that’s of high quality, but I can sometimes find an exception.

I’m currently playing: Okami (PS2), Super Mario World (GBA), Kirby’s Adventure (NES), Rule of Rose (PS2), Lumines II (PSP), Valkyrie Profile: Lenneth (PSP), Metal Gear: Portable Ops (PSP)

Currently watching: Lost, X (TV), The Colbert Report, Ergo Proxy, Coyote Ragtime Show, Kemonozume, The Vision of Escaflowne (TV), Darker than BLACK… and many others that pass before my eyes, but don’t consider myself to be actively watching (e.g. Pumpkin Scissors)

Currently listening to: Radiohead (Hail to the Thief), Yoko Kanno (Elegant World OST)

Between Tim and I, I think I’m usually the “good cop”, so that’ll probably show in the differences between our views on things. Anyways, my entertainment profile in a nutshell. Discuss.

2 Responses to “Your Maitre d’”

  1. Brian V Says:

    A very solid introduction, which places you at the cultural forefront of some of our generation’s best media, franchises and production. Then again, I do share your taste on most things so I’m biased. I’m looking forward to your hearing your thoughts on several items. You’ll probaby see special requests for specific reviews from me, too.

    Thank you for the call out to Film Walrus. I hope to have a long and fruitful alliance with you and Tim. I would love it if we occasionally took up a cross-blog discussion of overlapping interests (anime, film, videogames, etc). Even when we disagree, the conversations are always highly fruitful.

    One last thing to note. You can probably tell just by how simular the names sound but actually Bjork and Beck are secretly twins (separated from an original Bjerck creature of ancient legend). Don’t tell anyone my theory.

  2. The 3rd Guest Arrives « Grump Factory Says:

    […] commentary to help the factory meet its quarterly grump quota. To continue an analogy made in John’s introduction, if Tim is the bad cop and John the good cop, I guess I’m the grim third cop behind the one-way […]

Leave a Reply

